Opinion / Politics / Press Releases

OPINION: ‘Birth Day’ Abortions Don’t Bode Well For Future Seniors

abortions birth day seniorsProgressives have gotten cocky in recent months and are letting it all hang out, not so much of the good but a lot of the bad and the ugly. Want proof? The states of New York and Virginia recently cast a bright light on their obscene views on life that progressives there have.

New York managed to enact the country’s first “Birth Day Abortion” bill and Virginia’s Governor Ralph Northam got a little too graphic about his take on efforts in his state to legalize extreme third-trimester abortions.

Northam riled the country and the mainstream members of his Democratic Party when he graphically described what many interpreted as the proposed legalization of infanticide in new abortion legislation.  The bill, which has been tabled in the Virginia House of Delegates, would allow abortions to take place right up until the natural birth of a fetus.

A broad-based backlash ensued when Northam described for reporters how a “born alive” abortion might proceed.  “If a mother is in labor, I can tell you exactly what would happen. The infant would be delivered. The infant would be kept comfortable. The infant would be resuscitated if that’s what the mother and the family desired, and then a discussion would ensue between the physicians and the mother.”

The Democratic Governor of New York, Andrew Cuomo, meanwhile, defiantly basked in that state’s socialist limelight as he signed a new law ironically labeled the Reproductive Health Act.  This ill-conceived decree is not about health; it’s about death.

Cuomo, who calls himself a Catholic, incurred the wrath of Timothy Cardinal Dolan, the Archbishop of New York, who described the law as a “ghoulish radical abortion-expansion law.”

Dolan called the new law an insult, pointing out that it “allows for an abortion right up to the moment of birth; drops all charges against an abortionist who allows an aborted baby, who somehow survives the scissors, scalpel, saline and dismemberment, to die before his eyes; mandates that, to make an abortion more convenient and easy, a physician need not perform it; and might even be used to suppress the conscience rights of health care professionals not to assist in the grisly procedures.”

The insanity of it all is alarming.  The new generations, the Millennials and the younger Generation Z, as they are called, seem to choose extreme positions on social issues, including abortion.  And, they applaud such laws that help them thumb their noses at mainstream Americans.

Are these youngsters, who were lucky enough not to have been aborted before or at birth, adopting a cavalier view of life, in general?  Will they be in the forefront of a movement to allow what is called Organ Donor Euthanasia [ODE]?

Wesley J. Smith is an author and a senior fellow at the Discovery Institute’s Center on Human Exceptionalism.  He recently published an article in the National Review about the notion of legalized killing for the purpose of collecting organs to meet a demand for transplants.

Lest you think ODE is the stuff of science fiction, Smith notes that: “The world’s most respected bioethicists have published serious articles in influential medical journals urging that doctors be allowed to harvest cognitively disabled patients while they are alive.”

Smith concluded his report with the chilling hope that “the public never be ready to accept doctors’ taking a living patient — who may not even be physically ill — into a surgical suite, anesthetizing him, and then harvesting his beating heart.”

If newborn babies can be murdered at birth, what chance will old folks have in their twilight years?  None of the developments I’ve described bode well for future senior citizens.

But, perhaps there is a glimmer of hope that our lawmakers can come to their senses, at least some of them.  Senator Ben Sasse [R-NE], for example, tried to introduce a bill to protect babies born alive after an abortion attempt.  Despite the fact that the measure was co-sponsored by Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Democrats managed to block it.

But, the message came through loud and clear: pro-abortionists face a ferocious opposition among lawmakers and voters.  Especially if they engage in efforts to lift all restrictions on procedures to kill fetuses and live babies.

Meanwhile, the right to life movement appears to be getting a boost in spite of progressive attempts to make murder legal.  In fact, we are encouraged by the hundreds of thousands of pro-life young men and women who participated in this year’s Right to Life March in Washington. And, we were proud to sponsor attendance by the University of Idaho branch of Students for Life, a national organization that that boasts 1,200 branches at colleges and universities across the nation.

These members of the new generations and the perseverance of lawmakers like Ben Sasse give us hope for the future.


If You Enjoy Articles Like This - Subscribe to the AMAC Daily Newsletter
and Download the AMAC News App

Sign Up Today Download

If You Enjoy Articles Like This - Subscribe to the AMAC Daily Newsletter!


Subscribe
Notify of
103 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Yvonne
2 years ago

We have to find a way to stop the new party that I call “Demon-Rats” from pushing their disgusting agenda in the faces of those who cherish the blessings that God gives us. We have to find a way to reach the young people who are being lied to by the left-wing idiots who are teaching them about these disgraceful things! It just makes good sense to push back on these nitwit ideas!

Gary Henderson
2 years ago

I might except abortion if it includes taking the father and mother to their graves with the child ?.

SAM
2 years ago

These people are not thumbing their noses at main stream Americans, they are thumbing their nosrs at Almighty God and all that is holy, right, and loving. The very fact that they support such evil shows everyone that they do not really care about the people, they only want to gain power over us. TO have power over every area of our lives. They will end up treating us like cattle because they think we are no different than animals. They do not believe that we are a special creation of an intelligent Creator. Unfortunately ma n y agree with this philosophy. God help us.

Nick Cherasaro
2 years ago

These clowns have opened pandora’s box and don’t know it yet. They do not leave a time limit on how long a baby may be born until they “MURDER” it. Someone may decide to “abort” one of these politicians and justify it using these new laws.

Ga Dubya
2 years ago

If they had not killed 60+ million American babies, there would be plenty of workers available to fill the jobs, and vote, and fund Social Security benefits for the future. And also that much less need to let illegal immigrants flood into the country. Just think if they killed a baby who was destined to grow up and develop a cure for cancer, or be a great artist, or writer, or poet or teacher or our next leader?

William
2 years ago

I think it proves one thing that it is murder no matter when they do it.

Bill Spock
2 years ago

GOD Isn’t going to have mercy on immoral society, & we are experience it today & worst to come. And by the way concerning Global warming, man doesn’t control the weather, the creator does.

Pearl C. Ware
2 years ago

History repeats itself. After the Nazis had killed handicapped members of the “super race,” they began killing members of ethnic groups that they considered subhuman and Germans with some African ancestry were threatened also. As an African- American woman, I am concerned that the founder of Planned Parenthood had written in a letter something to the effect that “We do not want the news to go out that we want to exterminate the Negro race…should this idea occur to some of its more rebellious members.” In New York City, more Black babies have been killed in abortion in recent years, than those allowed to be born naturally and full-term, and there has been a corresponding rise in difficult-to-treat breast cancer in Black women.

Patriot
2 years ago

On a Conservative radio station, I recently learned that Hitler was in favor of Abortion on demand at any time, but 3 Doctors had to sign their O.K. When the people of Germany objected, he publicly agreed while allowing the practice to continue as before. It wasn’t a giant leap from there to kill the disabled, mentally ill, and then the Gypsies, Jews, Communists and any dissenters in horrific ways. New York leaves the decision to a woman and her Doctor. Killing is like lying; once you crossover into evil, the next act leaves the perpetrator unfazed. Science is wonderful but lacks a moral compass. With religion disappearing, consequences ignored, narcissistic behavior encouraged, immediate gratification the norm, et. al., we are in grave danger of becoming totally amoral with no empathy for our fellow citizens. Environmentalism has become the religion of the Left as we are hard wired to believe in something greater then ourselves. The consequences of this are as bad as any wrongs previous religions are accused of. These zealots will make sure you bend to them. Beware of the tyranny they will create in the name of Science.

Pat
2 years ago

Something else they are missing is, if a woman has invested her body and nine months of her life in nurturing an unborn baby, it makes absolutely no sense for HER future to have that baby killed. That is a future worker who will pay her social security benefits.

It has been shown that abortion has hurt the economy over the years. All those people who are not consuming or producing are missing.

Celia
2 years ago

I find it very interesting and very hypocritical that the left wing cares more for illegal immigrants than for American babies–they want to just kill the babies.

Cindi Franks
2 years ago

God, help us!

Helen
2 years ago

Hello” Nazis” is this what America has to look forward too.

Kris
2 years ago

Isn’t it true that once born these babies have all the benefits of every U. S. Citizen?

Michell
2 years ago

This country is becoming worse than China with these barbaric practices for killing infant children. What is shocking is the speed at which some people seem to be jumping on board for any practice which does not value life for the young, old, or disabled…As Mother Teresa said, “Wat is left?!”

Archie Higgins
2 years ago

everyone should OWN 2 devilcrats

Stephen W Kennedy
2 years ago

I am in favor of passing the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act.

I also think that is highly ironic that Members of Congress honor veterans from World War II for their bravery in fighting to liberate Europe from Nazi terrorism and free the Nazi concentration camps, which exterminated over six million Jews. Americans were horrified to learn of the atrocities at these concentration camps. Since 1973, nearly sixty million (60,000,000) babies have been killed in abortion procedures.

There is a fundamental flaw in the legal thinking in this issue. The Unborn Victims of Violence Act of 2004 (Public Law 108-212) is a United States law which recognizes an embryo or fetus in utero as a legal victim, if they are injured or killed during the commission of any of over 60 listed federal crimes of violence. The law defines “child in utero” as “a member of the species Homo sapiens, at any stage of development, who is carried in the womb.”[1] The law is codified in two sections of the United States Code: Title 18, Chapter 1 (Crimes), §1841 (18 USC 1841) and Title 10, Chapter 22 (Uniform Code of Military Justice) §919a (Article 119a).

How can an unborn or born-alive survivor be treated as a human being under many federal laws, but as a collection of cells without life under federal abortion law? As a constituent of yours, I would like to know your thoughts on this issue.

A Proud Member of National Write Your Congressman

Janet Kaszer
2 years ago

It is blasphemy the idea of late term abortion and killing and murder is what it is ! It has become an issue of money making ! Abortion is backed by the immoral and greedy! Seniors are and have been denied proper health care in USA ! I was a nurse for forty years and have witnessed the decline in care ! Willingness for insurance to cover or assume risk ! They are the main problem !!! They NEVER lose ! I was diagnosed with esophageal cancer in 2013 ! Now I am a survivor and 65 my care has declined and MD’s were hesitant to admit me to hospital! I developed type A flu Christmas Day ! Went to ER given meds and sent home! Returned to ER January 1 with fevers 102 103 and CPU’s not breathe! Given meds sent home ! Called nurse line with life threatening signs and symptoms directed to take me to hospital ER on January 8th ! Did Ct this time and found pneumonia behind heart and collapsed lung and pneumonia at bottom of left lung !!!!! I was finally admitted ! Only treated for four days ! Discharged with antibiotics injections ! Readmitted five days later with aspiration pneumonia in right lung !!! In dangerous shape close to septicemia! All a result of care directed by insurance directed care DRG ‘S ! I almost lost my life to this careless observation and treatment of the attitude by md and insurance ! Two reasons for their decisions age and cancer diagnosis !!!!!!! I am a unique cancer patient give six months to live going on year six survivor! If I fight !!!! I think my doctors and insurance should help me fight ! My insurance is Kaiser Permanente Senior Advantage Gold Plan!

Stephen Osborn
2 years ago

Make no mistake, senior citizens are next on the hit list. Other countries with government run healthcare are already telling seniors it is too expensive to treat them and they need to go home and die of natural causes. We need to vote these people out.

Bud
2 years ago

If an illegal alien gives birth to a child in the United states the child is immediately a citizen. and they are constitutionally protected. Why are the antiabortionists permitted to end the life of a living child simply because some doctors said they were not worth living?

103
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x