Opinion

Public Opinion Battle 999: The Debt Ceiling

By Jedediah Bila

Perhaps GOP leadership is asleep once again. Maybe Boehner and McConnell didn’t hear our President put the blame on them in yesterday’s press conference.

Let’s recall what President Obama said:

And Republicans in Congress have two choices here: They can act responsibly and pay America’s bills, or they can act irresponsibly and put America through another economic crisis.  But they will not collect a ransom in exchange for not crashing the American economy. The financial well-being of the American people is not leverage to be used. The full faith and credit of the United States of America is not a bargaining chip.

GOP leadership, this is the part where you hold a press conference setting the record straight on the debt ceiling. Own the arguments by being on offense, not defense. Haven’t you learned that it’s a bad idea to let the President win public opinion on an issue by allowing him to repeat false information over and over unchallenged?

On his radio show last night, Mark Levin emphasized the key point:

We, as a nation, will not go into default anytime soon because our revenue exceeds our debt payments. So the full faith and credit of the United States is not in danger unless the President puts it in danger.

See what Levin did there? He told the truth, then put the debt ball right back in Obama’s court. In other words, Mr. President, we’re not giving you a limitless credit card to steal from future generations. And we’re not going to let you lie about the consequences of not hiking the ceiling, either.

In a recent segment with Levin, Sen. Ted Cruz articulated a similar point:

Not raising the debt ceiling does not mean we default on the debt. And President Obama saying that is just fear mongering and deliberately deceiving people. The average tax revenues for the federal government are roughly $200 billion a month. Service on the debt is between thirty and forty billion dollars a month. There is ample revenue to ensure that we service the debt…

What is the purpose of a debt ceiling if you’re going to hike it up on a constant basis? If I gave myself a monthly spending allowance in order to save money, but then hiked up the spending limit every few months in order to spend more and more, what would be the point?

There would be no point whatsoever. I know that. Obama knows that. GOP leadership knows that. And every American family living on a budget knows that.

This is not rocket science. It’s something that families everywhere can understand. Hence why Obama turns to scare tactics, the blame game, and misinformation. And he will get away with it over and over if the GOP doesn’t smarten up and realize the importance of publicly–and repeatedly–setting the record straight on these issues.

GOP leadership: If you don’t combat deception, it sticks. Two Obama election victories later, isn’t it time to wake up?

Follow Jedediah on Twitter @JedediahBila

 

 

Read more articles by Jedediah Bila

Leave a Reply

35 Comments on "Public Opinion Battle 999: The Debt Ceiling"

Notify of

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Jones sabo the item therefore bring overall look i
3 years 5 months ago

Cheers! It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. Jones sabo the item therefore bring overall look i http://onestoppatioshop.com.au/member/126900/

Otaycec
3 years 7 months ago

The problem is that the main media outlets will only broadcast the statements of Obama. Even if someone in the Republican party stands up and gives the media a blow by blow explanation of what Obama is doing, and what he should be doing, the media will just ignore it, or they will broadcast only snippets that make the Republican look stupid. Unfortunately, most of America relies upon those ten second sound bites for their news. Except for a national spiritual revival, I see no hope for truth to ever regain the airwaves, and without truth, we are subject to a new form of totalitarianism that thrives on the acquisition of power and the complete oppression of all dissent, and ultimately of personal freedom.

Jimo
3 years 7 months ago
Unfortunately, its seems as if the RNC is losing elections on purpose in order to retain the “status quo”. No organization as large as the RNC can be this ineffective, inefficient, or stupid. I’ve come to believe that when it comes to the benefits of a politician’s job, he/she will opt to continue to resist abiding by the rules and policies that they mandate for the rest of the citizens of this country. They continue to reap many benefits that “ordinary” citizens cannot enjoy. Politicians were never meant to have a lifetime career in the Houses of Congress. They were never meant to get rich by “insider trading” being legal for only them, as well as other benefits accorded to them. A “true conservative” would quickly change many of these situations in order to save taxpayer money. Hence, very few “true conservatives” are elected to office. Republicans, (most, not all)… Read more »
Phil
3 years 8 months ago

It’s hard to get these matters across to the majority of the American people as anything that works against Obama and the Democrats will NOT be carried by this nations news media. The media LOOOOOVES Obama like a God and they will do everything in their power to help Obama and the Democrats prevent certain important information from being distributed to the masses. Much like Russia’s news network is only allowed to report to the people what the government wants them to report.

Georgia
3 years 8 months ago

Perhaps the GOP can’t counter as they are too busy working on their own set of lies and propaganda to mislead the American population. The one solid truth that has come out of the Right is that their object has been always to regain power and bottleneck any agenda of the sitting President, regardless of the item. They are getting salaries and raises while firmly sitting on their hands except with it is convenient to remove one to stir up a firestorm of misinformation.

Jeffrey Darmstadt
3 years 8 months ago

“If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it. The lie can be maintained only for such time as the State can shield the people from the political, economic and/or military consequences of the lie. It thus becomes vitally important for the State to use all of its powers to repress dissent, for the truth is the mortal enemy of the lie, and thus by extension, the truth is the greatest enemy of the State.”

Joseph Goebbels – Nazi propaganda Minister

Then there is Obama, another socialist who like Hitler offered free healthcare, then wanted to take all the guns. Soon millions dissapeared from the face of the earth. SO why does the GOP shield the people from the political and economics consequences of Obama’s lies. Trust them with the truth and all will be right.

PaulE
3 years 8 months ago
What the Republican Party desperately needs is someone like either Jedediah Bila or Mark Levin to write their official talking points for them. Clearly, the GOP is unable to articulate a concise, coherent message to educate and inform the American people on their own. The Republicans then need to stick to those talking points, without any exceptions, by every Republican member of the House and Senate. This is exactly what the Democrats do and they don’t even try to convey the truth in what they say to the American people. Yet by virtually every member of their party repeating the same scripted lies over and over again during every interview, the American people come to accept their lies as truth. Certainly the Republican Party should be able to memorize a brief set of talking points, crafted by either Jedediah or Mark, and repeat them with real conviction in the same… Read more »
REM
3 years 8 months ago

Jedediah is reading my mind. I am constantly talking back to the radio and tv – politicians and pundits alike: PLEASE explain to the audience that the govt will NOT default on the debt if the debt ceiling is not raised. Don’t let Obama keep on getting away with these lies, smoke and mirrors! We need much better Republican messengers! Someone please give lessons to McConnell and Boehner and the rest!

allan cunningham
3 years 8 months ago

As Abraham Lincoln said …A house divided can not stand. This regime has done more harm
in its goal to divide this country than any previous Congress in our nations history. I fear for
all our future generations and wonder if as a republic we will continue to lead the way for freedom.

Gary Ross
3 years 8 months ago

When we mere and insignificant little citizens go to the bank to apply for a loan, the bank looks at what they call your “debt to income ratio”. What is America’s debt to income ratio?

Bob Ho
3 years 8 months ago

Jedediah,

I hope you sent your comments as written to the republican party, et al

Dan Russell
3 years 8 months ago

Have with frequency!!!!!

Dan Russell
3 years 8 months ago

The biggest problem this country has is it places it’s faith in man and not in God. Man strives to glorify himself and in doing so only fails to see the chasm he is walking into while leading the populace like so many lemmings and dragging them with him.

Michael Duncan
3 years 8 months ago

Leadership takes courage – and it seems that right now there is a genuine lack of courage from many so-called leaders in the Republican party. I’m not a Republican, nor am I a Democrat, I am a conservative Christian who is watching for someone in the conservative wing of politics to take a stand on the truth. The only way to overcome lies is to proclaim the truth. It’s as Jedediah says: “GOP leadership: If you don’t combat deception, it sticks. Two Obama election victories later, isn’t it time to wake up?”

brooke Brandvold
3 years 8 months ago

Our president knows what he is doing. He is trying to put this counrty in so much debt that. He knows it will never able to be paid, and therefore he will have succeeded in destroying America of how it will have suppose to be.

Libertyinfinite
3 years 8 months ago

The republican party is an aristocratic oligarchy that Mark Levin supports fully. It denies conservatives, & only advances liberal republicans, or non threats to their liberal system.

They will feed morons like Levin whatever they wish & he will suck it through his straw. Mark Levin teaches his drones to worship him as their only source of knowledge. Never ever asking for his drones to think or do for themselves.

Mark Levin wouldn’t be able to hold liberty even if it paid him more than his real friends. He is nothing but a worthless fool. & has gone from being a part of the solution, to being part of the problem.

He is an oligarchy worshiping aristocratic republican. Exhibit A: Mitt Romney. & he’d do it again today if he had the chance. He will never rise above mediocre. Mark Levin is nothing but a glorified welfare queen.

Barney Manzo
3 years 8 months ago

I don’t hear either side offering any compromises that address the problems; is a balanced budget out of the question? Can we reform Social Security & Medicare without ending these programs. The idea that neocons want to cut these programs out is just plain evil.

Larry R
3 years 8 months ago

Ignorant would be a compliment to you. No republican, conservative or anyone walking and talking in congress is talking about ENDING Social Security or Medicare, what they are saying is that we need ot make some adjustments to the programs so they will continually be there for future generations. It is no wonder this clown was re-elected with ignorant voters like you.

Ted Duffy
3 years 8 months ago

There is so much misinformation written in comments by some users. I have yet to see a proposal put forward by either party that ends programs like Social Security and Medicare. I have, however, seen liberals attempt to put such proposals into the mouths of conservatives. Folks who want to continue spending at the adjusted (increased) annual rate (and therefore increase the debt ceiling) are like those who have no plan to pay for todays purchases on their own credit cards.

JimBear
3 years 8 months ago

Totally inaccurate and clueless rant . Levin settled for Romney after no one was left only because he wasn’t Obama. Levin hammers Boehner and Mcconnell and is the only major conservative host who calls them out. You obviously don’t listen to his show.

paul Van Why
3 years 8 months ago

The people do not care. They elected a king to supply all their needs and do not care about the one to pay the bill or the next generation.

Msgt3227
3 years 8 months ago
I honestly believe the argument about “passing on the unsustainable debt to our children/grandchildren” is also playing into the progressive game rules – You will never convince them with this argument (it’s preaching to the choir) – they see the world according to WIIFM What’s In It For Me? They are happy to pass the cost onto future generations, as long as the party and freebies keep landing in their own laps! I know a 70-something progressive who has over $40k in credit card debt, and is intent on running up as much as he can before he dies. The fact that it will financially wipeout his widow (if she survives him) means nothing to him! So let’s own THIS dialog – let’s reword our argument to point out, WE cannot sustain this debt orgy! Point out it is going to hit the progressives in the pocketbook, just like the… Read more »
rdbrewer
3 years 8 months ago

We don’t have a strategy because Boehner isn’t a strategic thinker. Neither is he a tactical thinker. As Drew said weeks ago, he’s the guy to make the trains run on time. He’s a logistical thinker. Not the guy for the job in tough times.

Diana Erbio
3 years 8 months ago

So sad that the media no longer explains things to the American people if it does not line up with our president’s position. You are exactly correct when you ask “What is the purpose of a debt ceiling if you’re going to hike it up on a constant basis?” and all of us who live in the real world and must stay on a budget know that your question “If I gave myself a monthly spending allowance in order to save money, but then hiked up the spending limit every few months in order to spend more and more, what would be the point?” is at the root of our government’s overspending problem.

JonInVa
3 years 8 months ago

Isn’t the term Republican Leadership an oxymoron at this point? There is no leadership and they’ve learned ZERO from what happened in November. Obama walks not only on water but all over them too.

JimBear
3 years 8 months ago

Jedediah Bila is spot on. I wish we had one GOP speaker who would show up with at a press event make a short statement and have a video screen of Obama’s clips then take them apart like Mark does on the radio. It’s painful how loss Boehner is and how the GOP reelected him as Speaker. If this keeps up the GOP will lose the house. If they refuse to engage and fight then they are no use to us.

wpDiscuz